Cameron’s Backpack Shaped Card

Standard

If you have read my About page, you know that I have a very special great-nephew Cameron.  Today is his first day of school, so I wanted to make a card to celebrate the start of a brand new school year!  A week or so ago, his mom posted a picture of his new backpack:

Cam’s Backpack Inspiration

I thought it was so cute that I wanted to make a scrapbook page element for Cam’s scrapbook and I figured I might as well make it a shape card since I have to mail it anyway.  When I looked at today’s Clean and Simple Challenge on Splitcoaststampers, Inspired by a Word – School, I saw that my idea fit the challenge perfectly, lucky me!  It also works for this week’s Paper Players Challenge, CAS Paper Piecing, as well as Stampin’ with the Dragon’s Anything but a Square or Rectangle Challenge.

Cameron’s Backpack Shape Card

For my shaped card, I used the backpack by Sarah Bailey  from the Silhouette Online Store, modified to fit my needs.  I flipped the image so that the flatter side was on the left where I wanted my fold.  I considered having the fold at the top, but the shape of the bottom would not let the card stand up.  I also skipped the buckle and pockets so it would look more like the real backpack.  For the dinosaur, I chose dino t-rex by Jennifer Wambach, also from the Silhouette Online Store.  I added the dots by welding circles to the top layer and subtracting them so the red base layer showed through.  The zipper is by Jamie Koay, but it did not cut well at this small size so I just used a marker to make the zipper tracks.

Challenges Entered:

CAS184- Inspired by a Word – SCHOOL

Stampin’ with the Dragon Challenge ~ Anything but a Square or Rectangle

The Paper Players #109 ~ CAS Paper Piecing

Materials List

Stampin’ Up! Brilliant Blue, Real Red, Whisper White and Green Galore Cardstock

Stampin’ Up! Real Red Marker

Backpack, Dino T-Rex and Zipper Cut Files

8 responses »

  1. That is awesome, Francesca! I love how you recreated Cameron’s backpack as a card. I’ll bet he is thrilled to get this card!

Leave a Reply

