Summer Berry Basket, My First Cut File

Standard

Well this is a first for me, I designed my own cut file!  I was looking for a berry basket, you know the cardboard kind that strawberries came in when I was a kid.  Here is what I had in mind:

Bake It Pretty Farmer’s Market Berry Baskets

 

I searched the web to find a cut file and couldn’t find one that I liked.  I did find this Berry Container die by Lifestyle Crafts, but wanted the flexibility to adjust the size:

Lifestyle Crafts Berry Container Die

Since I couldn’t find what I wanted, I decided to try to make one myself.  I used the die as a model, but made some adjustments to fit what I wanted.  And I have to say, I am quite pleased with myself!  Here is what I came up with:

Summer Berry Basket by InkyPalms

One of the changes I made was to bring the holes up a little higher to help keep the filler from coming out.  The top band is a little narrower than I like, but I wanted it to fit on one 12 x 12 sheet of cardstock.  Next time I will make the basket a little smaller so that I can make the bands a little wider.  The basket is really sturdy, the bottom is two layers and the top band is folded over to provide more stability.  The top half of the basket has plenty of space to add a pretty label and a sentiment.  The 3D Strawberries are from the Strawberry Box cut file by Lori Whitlock.  After I cut them, I embossed them with the Swiss Dots embossing folder.  I used a Stampin’ Up! Basic Black marker on each of the raised dots for the seeds and a little ink to add a little depth to the leaves..

Materials List

American Crafts Cream Textured Cardstock

Stampin’ Up! Creamy Caramel Ink

Stampin’ Up! Garden Green Cardstock

Cuttlebug Swiss Dots Embossing Folder

Stampin’ Up! Basic Black Marker

Stampin’ Up! Gumball Green Ink

Misc. Ribbon Scrap (came off a gift card holder)

 

 

 

10 responses »

  1. I am in love with ceramic berry baskets! And Target recently had plastic ones I had to have! So creative of you to design your own-great job!

  2. This is so awesome, clever lady. I am still learning my cameo and no idea how to do something like this…maybe you can start ‘selling’ your files….

Leave a Reply

