Inspired Tropical Wreath

Standard

Soap Inspired Tropical Wreath

This is the card I made for today’s Splitcoaststampers Inspiration Challenge   IC344 ~ Indulgence by SV Soaps and yesterday’s Free for All Challenge F4A124 Wood You Like a Challenge?, to make a card with something related to wood.  This was a fun card to make, but a little time consuming.  I was inspired by the colors in this Island Nectar Soap and this Passionfruit Nectarine Soap.  I used the Palm Frond stamp from Stampin’ Up! Tropical Party to create the wreath.  I punched a small circle to use as a guide and layered the palm fronds stamped in Gumball Green.  I the cut the center with a die a little bigger then the circle punch to clean up the edges and the outside with a die just larger than the wreath.  I stamped shells from several Stampin’ Up! sets, Along the Shore, Stipple Shells and Calm Seas, and colored them with Stampin’ Up! Markers.  I sprayed them with homemade glimmer spray I made using Stampin’ Up! Frost White paint.  When that was dry, I added Crystal Effects and sprayed another coat of glimmer spray.  While the shells were drying, I embossed a piece of  Soft Suede with the Tim Holtz Woodgrain embossing folder, sponged it with Walnut Stain Distress Ink and mounted it on a Gumball Green card base.  I attached the shells to the wreath with Crystal Effects and mounted on the background with Stampin’ Up! Dimensionals.  I stamped the sentiment from Stampin’ Up Christmas Greetings in Calypso Coral, cut with a Nestabilities Banner die, sponged the edges and mounted to the card wih a little pouf in the middle.  This card was a little too time consuming for mass production, but I might make a few more before Christmas.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

