Fabulous Calypso Coral Sketch Challenge Card

Standard

Calypso Coral Engagement Card

Happy 4th of July!  I was able to sneak in the studio today to finish up a couple of cards, so I’m a happy girl!  This card was made for today’s Sketch Challenge SC392 on Splitcoaststampers.  This an interesting sketch, it took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do with it.  I needed to make an engagement card and wanted to use this pretty flower from Stampin’ Up! Fabulous Florets.  In order to make it work for the sketch, I created a mask for the flower and stamped it 5 times in Basic Black on Whisper White to create a bouquet shape that would fit in the Nestabilities Oval die and stamped another flower for the top.  I colored the flowers with Stampin’ Up! Markers.  I started with the centers, coloring them in Yo Yo Yellow.  I colored all the petals in Blush Blossom and then went back over the petals with Cameo Coral, leaving the edges Blush Blossom.  I added Calypso Coral about half way up the petals, let it dry for a couple of minutes and then added some feathered lines to the base of the petals.  I cut the image with the Nestabilities Oval die and while it was still in the die, I sponged a bit of Calypso Coral around the edges, then matted in Calypso Coral and Kraft.  For the vertical layer, I used a piece of scrap designer paper and matted it in Pool Party.  I used Kraft for the background and mounted it to a Calypso Coral card base.  I cut the large Nestabilities scalloped circle in Calypso Coral and cut a circle of designer paper to layer on it but decided not to use it in the final design.  I stamped the sentiment from Stampin’ Up! Fabulous Phrases in Basic Black, punched with the Stampin’ Up! Word Window Punch, inked the edges with Calypso Coral and matted with a Calypso Coral Memory Box die cut.  I mounted the sentiment on a scrap of seam binding and attached under the Kraft background.  I punched 4 leaves in Kiwi Kiss with a Martha Stewart punch and glued them to the top of the card.  I mounted the cut out flower on top with a Stampin’ Up! Dimensional.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Calypso Sunnyday | Wholeness 4 Love

Leave a Reply

