Need for Speed Birthday Card

Standard

Cropped Porsche Birthday

Today’s challenge on Splitcoaststamper is Sketch Challenge SC391.  I really like this sketch and since I needed to get working on birthday cards for the men in my life, both my husband and son both have birthdays coming up, I decided to give this sketch a shot.  I’ve been trying to come up with something to top my husband’s birthday card from last, which was a big hit.  You can see that card below.

For this year’s card, I knew I wanted to use my new Stampin’ Up! set Need for Speed.  This fall, my husband got a Porsche and he and my son spent months restoring it, so I knew the car from this set would be  perfect for his card. I started with a 5.5 x 4.25 card base in Basic Gray.  For the horizontal background panel,  I adhered a piece of aluminum foil to a piece of cardstock and embossed.  I sponged on a bit of Black Soot Distress Ink to tone down the foil a bit and matted it in black.  For the Vertical panel, I stamped the Stampin’ Up! Background stamp Netting in Black on Basic Gray and matted in black.  I stamped the car in Memento Tuxedo Black, embossed with black embossing powder and cut it and the mat with Nestabilities Circle dies.  I colored the headlights with a Barely Banana Marker and added Crystal Effects to the lights, windshield and windows.  I masked the car and top half and sponged the upper lane in Going Gray.  I shifted the mask down and added a mask to the bottom to create the lane lines, sponged in Summer Sun and added the black line with a thin Sharpie Marker.  I shifted the mask down and sponged the bottom in Going Gray, shifted again and sponged the top in Soft Sky.  For the sentiment, I used an old Stampin’ Up! Banner stamp.  I used a Stamp-a-ma-jig to position the words from Stampin’ Up! Fabulous Phrases and stamped in black.  I cut the banner out, sponged with Soft Sky and mounted with a little poof in the middle.

Last year’s birthday card.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

