Cape Cod Highland Lighthouse, the creative process

Standard

I made this card for The Paper Players 100th challenge.  I am really enjoying the challenges over there and can’t wait to see what they come up with for the next 100 challenges.  I had the idea for this card in my head, but boy did I have a hard time getting it on paper!  It took five tries to get something close to what I had in mind.  I am not 100% satisfied with the results, but I do like it.  The Paper Players challenge I chose was a #90, a color challenge to use Not Quite Navy, Pool Party and Certainly Celery.  These colors are so pretty together!  I chose the PSX Cape Cod Highland Lighthouse for my image and wanted to water color  it.  I stamped the image in Night of Navy and heat set it with my heat gun, but when I started to color with the water brush, the color bled.  I decided to brayer the three colors on the background and then stamp the image, but I didn’t like it, the Night of Navy was too dark.  Then I decided to sponge the background and stamp the image in Night of Navy, but I still didn’t like it and decided not too use Night of Navy in the Background.  For number four, I sponged the background in Certainly Celery and Pool Party and stamped in Night of Navy.  I liked this one much better, but I still thought it needed something more.

For number five, I decided to emboss the image with VersaMark, Night of Navy and clear embossing powder and sponged the background with Certainly Celery and Pool Party.  I matted the image in Night of Navy and Certainly Celery cut with a Nestabilities die.  For the background, I used a textured cardstock from a DCWV Mat Stack that matches Pool Party.  I added a layer of Night of Navy Designer Series Paper matted in Night of Navy and mounted on a Night of Navy card base.  I cased the layout from Roberta, this week’s Stamping Queen on Splitcoaststampers.  Here is her lovely card, Vintage Spring.

2 responses »

  1. Well, as soon as you said the color combo, I knew it was one of mine! It has been so fun to see the challenges that people have chosen to use—I think this is a lovely way to use these colors; that image is so serene! Glad you persevered! Thanks for helping us celebrate this week!

Leave a Reply

