CAS Lighthouse Father’s Day Card

Standard

I love lighthouses!  No, I don’t collect lighthouse tchotchkes, wear lighthouse patterned clothes and carry a lighthouse themed bag, but I do love lighthouses.  More specifically, I love lighthouse stamps.  I have way more than I really need and there are several more that I really want.  I am desperately seeking the PSX Key West Lighthouse stamp and wouldn’t mind getting my hands on the New London Harbour Lighthouse either!  My love of lighthouse began when I was a small child growing up in Miami.  Our favorite beach was on Key Biscayne, right next to the Cape Florida Lighthouse and I loved swimming and playing in the shadows of the lighthouse.  The boys loved to tell pirate stories about the lighthouse, and somebody always had the bright idea to dig for buried treasure.  My favorite part of the day was Palm tree races, seeing who could get the highest up the fastest.  I was pretty good at it too, until one day I got up too high for my own good!  I still remember hanging on to that Palm tree for dear life, my scrawny arms and legs wrapped around the trunk while all the kids were yelling at me to jump.  My brother finally came over and stood under me, ready to catch me if I fell, and coaxed me down to the cheers and clapping of our friends.  I was so embarrassed but also so grateful for my big brother, I love you Derry!

My Father’s Day card is a quick and easy CAS card using today’s Sketch Challenge SC389 on Splitcoaststampers.  I needed a Father’s Day card, so I replaced the girly swirls with Rope cording.  I stamped the Impression Obsession Cape Lookout Lighthouse in VersaMark ink on Stampin’ Up! Kraft cardstock and embossed with Stampin’ Up! Black Embossing Powder.  I tied a Sailors knot, link to tutorial below, with two pieces of Stampin’ Up! Rope cording and attached to the panel with glue dots.  One quick tip is to separate the cords in the rope on the back to help it lay flatter.  I mounted the Kraft panel on a Basic Black card base, stamped the sentiment from Stampin’ Up! Teeny Tiny Wishes in Black and punched with the Stampin’ Up! Word Window Punch.  I layered it over a Black mat punched with a Stampin’ Up! Modern Label Punch.  That’s it, done!

Sailors Knot Tutorial

4 responses »

  1. Love the card and that knot, wow. I watched the tutorial and got so confused that I think I’ll leave the knot tying to the pros. LOL Anyway, its a really great card.
    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. Hi..I hope you are enjoying blogging..I wanted to pop back and see how you were doing and check out some of your great work and tips. I love your Father’s Day card..Love the use of the Rope Cord..Very cool and nautical. Thanks for the tips for the Say no to the trash can! Fun!

  3. Thanks for the visit and comments..I am glad you got the expedit. I have been using a high stool and a counter my hubby made years ago. It is very high. Kills my back and I am short, so I need to leap down.. I picked out a desk, and then a second choice, but two weeks ago I went back and both were no longer being made…Isn’t that my luck! I Poor hubby had to watch me try desks for 2 hrs. I got a large white one with a side that comes out. I loved the expedit too! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

