Aside

I made this card last summer and it is one of my favorite cards that I have made.  When I first saw the Stampin’ Up! Set Inspired by Nature, it immediately reminded me of beach grass on sand dunes.  When I was a young adult, I lived in the Florida Panhandle and the sunsets there were magnificent. I loved to go down to the beach with a picnic dinner and watch the sun set over the bay and this card was inspired by that time in my life.

To make this card, I chose Kraft for the card base and Bermuda Bay for the mat.  Using Whisper White for the image panel, I masked the sun with a circle punch and sponged the sunset sky with Summer Sun and Pumpkin Pie.  I used Bermuda Bay and Baja Breeze for the water and Creamy Caramel for the sand.  I stamped the grass first in VersaMark and then in Creamy Caramel and embossed with clear embossing powder.  I stamped one of my favorite sentiments on a Stampin’ Up! Labels die cut in Creamy Caramel and sponged the edges.  I wrapped the twine around the bottom and mounted the sentiment label on the twine.

 

Dunes at Sunset, Revisiting a Personal Favorite

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

